Contact Directory

  

Administration

Position Name Phone Email
       
City Manager Jon Stoppels (989) 224-8944 ext. 220 jstoppels@stjohnsmich.com
       
City Clerk Mindy Seavey (989) 224-8944 ext. 223 mseavey@stjohnsmich.com
       
City Treasurer Kristina Kinde (989) 224-8944 ext. 232 kkinde@stjohnsmich.com
       
Deputy City
Manager/
Community
Devel. Direct
Dave Kudwa (989) 224-8944 ext. 231 dkudwa@stjohnsmich.com

City Commission

Position Name Phone Email
       
Mayor Eric Hufnagel (989) 224-8944 ehufnagel@stjohnsmich.com
       
Vice Mayor Bob Craig (989) 224-8944 rcraig@stjohnsmich.com
       
City Commissioner Heather Hanover (989) 224-8944 hhanover@stjohnsmich.com
       
City Commissioner Jean Ruestman (989) 224-8944 jruestman@stjohnsmich.com
       
City Commissioner Tamara Kirschenbauer (989) 224-8944 commsjcc@outlook.com

 

Department of Public Works

Position Name Phone Email
       
DPW Division Supv. Jeremy Ritter (989) 224-8944 ext. 229 jritter@stjohnsmich.com

 

Fire Department

Position Name Phone Email
       
Fire Chief Dean Mazzolini (989) 224-8944 ext. 240 dmazzolini@stjohnsmich.com

 

Information Technology

Name Phone Email
     
Mindy Seavey (989) 224-8944 ext. 223 mseavey@stjohnsmich.com

 

Legal Department

Name Phone
   
John Salemi (989) 224-8944 ext.225

 

Parks & Recreation Department

Position Name Phone Email
       
Parks & Recreation
Director
William Schafer (989) 224-8944 ext. 227 bschafer@stjohnsmich.com

 

Police Department

Position Name Phone Email
       
Police Chief David Kirk (989) 224-6721 dkirk@sjpolice.org
       
Lieutenant Eric Verlinde (989) 224-6721  everlinde@sjpolice.org

 

Public Services Department

Position Name Phone Email
       
Director of
Public Services
Steven Martin (989) 224-8944 ext. 281 smartin@stjohnsmich.com

Wastewater Treatment Department

Position Name Phone Email
       
Wastewater Div.
Supervisor
Jordan Whitford (989) 224-8944 ext. 230 jwhitford@stjohnsmich.com

 

Water Department

Position Name Phone Email
       
Water Division
Supervisor
Justin Smith (989) 224-8944 ext. 235 jsmith@stjohnsmich.com

 

Enter Title

Local Development Finance Authority

The Local Development Financing Act, Public Act 281 of 1986, as amended, allows a city, village, or urban township to utilize tax increment financing to fund public infrastructure improvements. This tool is designed to promote economic growth and job creation. Communities across Michigan have utilized LDFA districts to extend sewer and water lines, to construct roads, and to service manufacturing, agricultural processing, and high technology operations.

The financing mechanism allows for the capture of the incremental growth of local property taxes over a period of time to fund public infrastructure improvements. By leveraging future tax increments, the LDFA is able to finance these public improvements, which can lead to new development opportunities within the community.

Staff contact for the LDFA: Jon Stoppels, City Manager, (989) 224-8944 ext. 220, jstoppels@stjohnsmich.com 

Any other information required by MCL 125.4910(1) can be obtained at St. Johns City Offices, 100 E. State Street, Suite #1100, St. Johns, Michigan 48879.

Resolution Creating LDFA

TIF & Development Plan

Budget

Audit

Informational Meeting Minutes:

12/09/2019

08/21/2019