Contact Directory

Administration
City Manager Jon Stoppels (989) 224-8944 ext. 220 jstoppels@stjohnsmich.com
City Clerk Mindy Seavey (989) 224-8944 ext. 223 mseavey@stjohnsmich.com
City Treasurer Kristina Kinde (989) 224-8944 ext. 232 kkinde@stjohnsmich.com
Community Development Director/
Deputy City Manager
Dave Kudwa (989) 224-8944 ext. 231 dkudwa@stjohnsmich.com
City Assessor Melissa Zemla, CSZ Services (989) 224-8944 ext. 222 assessor@stjohnsmich.com
       
City Commission
Commissioner Tamara Kirschenbauer (989) 228-8944 commsjcc@outlook.com
Commissioner Heather Hanover (989) 224-8944 hhanover@stjohnsmich.com
Vice Mayor Robert Craig (989) 224-8944 rcraig@stjohnsmich.com
Commissioner Jean Ruestman (989) 224-8944 jruestman@stjohnsmich.com
Mayor Eric Hufnagel (989) 224-8944 ehufnagel@stjohnsmich.com
       
Department of Public Works
DPW Division Supervisor Jeremy Ritter (989) 224-8944 ext. 229 jritter@stjohnsmich.com
       
Fire Department
Fire Chief Dean Mazzolini (989) 224-8944 ext. 240 dmazzolini@stjohnsmich.com
       
Information Technology
  Mindy Seavey (989) 224-8944 ext. 223 mseavey@stjohnsmich.com
       
Legal Department
  John Salemi  (989) 224-8944 ext. 225  
       
Parks & Recreation Department
Recreation Director William Schafer (989) 224-8944 ext. 227 bschafer@stjohnsmich.com
Recreation Programmer Marie Heard (989) 224-8944 ext. 228 mheard@stjohnsmich.com
       
Police Department
Police Chief David Kirk (989) 224-6721 dkirk@sjpolice.org
Lieutenant Eric Verlinde (989) 224-6721 everlinde@sjpolice.org
       
Public Services Department
Director of Public Services Steven Martin (989) 224-8944 ext. 281 smartin@stjohnsmich.com
       
Wastewater Treatment Department
Wastewater Division Supervisor Jordan Whitford (989) 224-8944 ext. 230 jwhitford@stjohnsmich.com
       
Water Department
Water Division Supervisor Justin Smith (989) 224-8944 ext. 235 jsmith@stjohnsmich.com

Enter Title

Local Development Finance Authority

The Local Development Financing Act, Public Act 281 of 1986, as amended, allows a city, village, or urban township to utilize tax increment financing to fund public infrastructure improvements. This tool is designed to promote economic growth and job creation. Communities across Michigan have utilized LDFA districts to extend sewer and water lines, to construct roads, and to service manufacturing, agricultural processing, and high technology operations.

The financing mechanism allows for the capture of the incremental growth of local property taxes over a period of time to fund public infrastructure improvements. By leveraging future tax increments, the LDFA is able to finance these public improvements, which can lead to new development opportunities within the community.

Staff contact for the LDFA: Jon Stoppels, City Manager, (989) 224-8944 ext. 220, jstoppels@stjohnsmich.com 

Any other information required by MCL 125.4910(1) can be obtained at St. Johns City Offices, 100 E. State Street, Suite #1100, St. Johns, Michigan 48879.

Resolution Creating LDFA

TIF & Development Plan

Budget

Audit

Informational Meeting Minutes:

12/09/2019

08/21/2019